Main navigation

Land Acknowledgement

The School of Social Welfare acknowledges that the University of Kansas occupies land that has been cared for by several tribal nations.  

This land acknowledgment recognizes that Indigenous people are traditional guardians of the land and that there is an enduring relationship between Indigenous peoples and these traditional territories. Our School affirms, advocates for, and supports the sovereignty of the four-federally recognized tribes of Kansas, and the other 570 federally recognized nations in the U.S.​​ 

The acknowledgment reminds us to continue our commitment to advocating for, and supporting Indigenous students, staff, and faculty while working towards decolonizing the systems of power and oppression. Please visit the Land Acknowledgment webpage for a listing of our current actions of commitment.