A Foundation of Strengths. A Vision of Justice. A Mission of Change.
  • Home
  • About
  • News
  • Announcing the 2020-2021 DEI Scholars and Fellows

Announcing the 2020-2021 DEI Scholars and Fellows

Thursday, August 20, 2020

DEI Fellows are MSW students who identify a research project related to racial and disability justice. They receive a $6,000 scholarship and $1,000 in research funds. These awards are made possible by donors to the DEI Program in the School of Social Welfare, specifically those who donate during One Day One KU! DEI Scholars are BSW students who express interest in the individual research projects and work with the Fellows. This year we have two teams of Fellows/Scholars with two different research projects. Look for information in the Spring about their research presentations!

Team 1: Exploring the mental health service needs and services received among incarcerated African-American women
DEI Fellow: Genilda Journey, MSW Student, Edwards Campus
DEI Scholar: Ahmad Rollins, BSW Student, Edwards Campus

Team 2: Migrant farmworkers in Kansas: Creation of a disability resource toolkit
DEI Fellow: Diana Lady, MSW Student, Edwards Campus
DEI Scholar: Edan Belihu, BSW Student, Lawrence Campus

Congratulations to these students for their outstanding applications and important and timely research projects!

Social Welfare Events