Transform Lives. Be the Change.
  • Home
  • About
  • News
  • Indigenous Peoples Day Statement

Indigenous Peoples Day Statement

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Together we call upon the University of Kansas to recognize October 10, 2016 as Indigenous Peoples Day. With its origins in the 1977 International Conference on Discrimination Against Indigenous Populations in the Americas, Indigenous Peoples Day recognizes the valuable contributions made by Indigenous peoples. Such recognition is especially appropriate at KU, where the University highly regards its relationship with Indigenous students, staff, faculty, and Haskell Indian Nations University.

Recognition of October 10, 2016 as Indigenous Peoples Day is also consistent with recommendations made by other groups on campus. In the April 27, 2016 Report of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Advisory Group submitted to Chancellor Gray-Little and then acting Provost Sara Rosen, it was recommended that the University “[r]ecognize Indigenous People’s Day in honor of Native American contributions to the community.” See Further, on October 3, 2016, the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Working Group issued a statement on recent protests and institutional change. In relevant part, the statement states:

Further, in accordance with the commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion and as specified in the DEI report from last year, we require the University recognize this coming Monday (10/10) as Indigenous People’s Day. This requirement is only a start to move forward on the recommendations laid out last year, including strengthening the relationship with Haskell Indian Nations University and enhancing KU’s commitment to Indigenous Studies and our Indigenous and First Nations communities at the University.


The City of Lawrence declared October 12, 2015 Indigenous Peoples Day. See of/article_6e1d6954-6ca4-11e5-a02d-077815c8a78f.html. The City’s declaration is consistent with those of numerous other cities and states, which have all decided to recognize the crucial contributions of Indigenous peoples. See mix/wp/2015/10/11/more-cities-celebrating-indigenous-peoples-day-as-effort-to-abolish- columbus-day-grows/.

Accordingly, we call on the University to honor its commitment to Indigenous peoples by recognizing October 10, 2016 as Indigenous Peoples Day.


First Nations Student Association Indigenous Studies Program

Native American Law Students Association Native Faculty and Staff Council

Tribal Law and Government Center

Center for American Indian Community Health, University of Kansas Medical Center Achievement and Assessment (AAI)

Agile Technology Solutions (ATS)


Asian and Asian American Faculty and Staff Council (AAAFSC) Asian Law Students Association

Black Faculty and Staff Council Black Law Students Association Brazilian Student Association

Center for Educational Opportunity Programs (CEOP) Center for Educational Testing & Evaluation (CETE) Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies Center for Public Partnerships & Research (CPPR) Center for the Study of Injustice

Department of African and African-American Studies Department of American Studies

Emily Taylor Center for Women & Gender Equity English Department

Graduate Students of Color

Hispanic American Law Student Association History Department

Humanities Program

Institute for Policy and Social Research Kansas African Studies Center

KU Habitat for Humanity KU Law OutLaws & Allies Latino/a Studies Council Museum Studies Program

Office for Diversity in Science Training Political Science Department

Religious Studies School of Education School of Law

School of Law Faculty and Staff Diversity and Inclusion Committee School of Public Affairs and Administration

School of Social Welfare

Sexuality and Gender Diversity Faculty and Staff Council South Asian Student Association (KU SASA)


University Senate



  • Fran Bartlett (KU Graduate), Lawrence High School Teacher
  • Andrew Bricker (KU Graduate), Lawrence High School Teacher
  • Tyler L. Childress, KU Law Student, KU DEI Group Member, OutLaws & Allies Vice President
  • Ben Dandrea, KU Student
  • Ann Foster, Lawrence High School Teacher


  • Dr. Paul Kelton, Associate Dean for the Humanities and Professor, KU Department of History
  • Leah LaPointe, KU Payables-Procurement Services
  • Dr. Ward Lyles, Assistant Professor, KU Urban Planning
  • Everett Metcalf (KU Undergraduate in the SOE), KU Student
  • Tracy Murray (KU Graduate), Lawrence High School Teacher
  • An Sasala, KU PhD Student, Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies
  • Valerie Schrag (KU Graduate), Lawrence High School Teacher
  • Thomas Sherwood, KU Facilities Services
  • Dr. Stacy Swearingen White, Chair and Professor, KU Urban Planning
  • Braden Werner, KU Student

Social Welfare Events
Follow Social Welfare

Follow KU SSW on FacebookFollow KU SSW on TwitterFollow KU SSW on YouTube