Transform Lives. Be the Change.
  • Home
  • Integrated Health Scholars Program - About

About Integrated Health Scholars Program

Our goal is to expand the number of social work professionals prepared to serve populations across the lifespan in integrated healthcare settings in rural and urban medically underserved areas in Kansas.

Integrated Health Scholars are exceptional clinical MSW students who receive a value-added educational experience to develop knowledge and skills in integrated mental health, substance use, and primary health care service delivery. Each year, 28 clinical students will receive training and support with priority given to our Western Kansas MSW program that is located in and serves rural students and communities.

Funding is provided by a 4-year $1.8 million Behavioral Health Workforce Education and Training (BHWET) award from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).

Key partners include:

  • KU Medical Center for Interprofessional Education
  • Kansas Association for the Medically Underserved
  • KU Medical Center Rural Health Education and Services
  • KU Medical Center Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Click here (pdf) to view current scholars.

The IHSP developed out of a prior HRSA award (2014-2018) that supported our Behavioral Health Scholars Program.

Behavioral Health Scholars Program (2014-2018)

After the horrific shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, President Obama proposed a White House Initiative, “Now is the Time” that called for efforts to decrease gun violence, increase school safety and make mental health more accessible to young people in our country. As part of this national effort, the KU School of Social Welfare (KUSSW) was awarded a $1.2 million BHWET grant from HRSA. The Behavioral Health Scholars Program (BHSP) provided specialized training in working in integrated behavioral health with at-risk adolescents and transition-age youth. The BHSP supported 80 clinical social work students including 22 from the Western Kansas MSW Program. Graduates live throughout Kansas and other states working with at-risk youth in community mental health centers, schools, primary care practices and other settings. The BHSP was led by Michelle Levy (PI), Alice Lieberman (Co-PI) and Cheryl Holmes (Evaluator).

Scholars “Value-Added” Training: Integrated Behavioral Health with At-Risk Adolescents and Transition-Age Youth

Objective: Students will develop the knowledge and skills to employ brief behavioral interventions to address mental health, substance use and overall wellness of at-risk adolescents and transition-age youth within integrated settings.

Module 1: Health Equity and Prevention
Module 2: Understanding and Engaging At-Risk Youth
Module 3: Enhancing Motivation for Behavior Change
Module 4: Integrated Primary and Behavioral Health Care
Module 5: School-based Behavioral Health
Module 6: EBP Strategies for Integrated Behavioral Health
Module 7: Health Care with Rural and Underserved Populations
Module 8: Foundations of Interprofessional Collaboration @ KU Medical Center
Module 9: Understanding Substance Use and SBIRT
Module 10: Bringing it All Together with the Standardized Patient
Year-end Poster Presentation @ KU Social Work Day or other community events


Behavioral Health Scholars & Field Placements for 2017-18
Jessica Albin Kelly Center (Hays)
Miguel Alvarez  Genesis Family Health (Garden City)
Robyn Ashauer  Heart of Kansas Family Health Care (Great Bend)
Jared Auten Bert Nash Health Connections (Lawrence)
Jacey Bishop Johnson County Mental Health Center (Overland Park)
Vivien Brite  Stormont Vail (Topeka)
Becky Clark  Genesis Family Health (Garden City)
Shelby Covey  Kids TLC (Olathe)
Alex Creech    Heartland Community Health Center (Lawrence)
Lyndsey Crisenbery Hays West Central Kansas Special Education Cooperative (Hays)
Chrissie Diehl Johnson County Mental Health Center (Overland Park)
Nicole Franklin  Olathe SOARS (Olathe)
Heidi Goerzen Prairie View (Newton)
Mayra Gonzales Compass Behavioral Health (Dodge City)
Alyson Gordon Larned State Hospital (Hays)
Matthew Jepsen Pawnee Mental Health Center (Manhattan)
Dorian Jester Johnson County Mental Health Center (Overland Park)
Alison Kuhn PACES (Kansas City, Kansas)
Ja’Lynn Montgomery DeLaSalle (Kansas City, Missouri)
Kaylee Murphy Children’s Mercy (Kansas City, Missouri)
Derion Rusley BullDoc Clinic (Kansas City, Kansas)
Kristyna Smith Van Go, Inc. (Lawrence)
Baillie Woydziak  Children’s Mercy (Kansas City, Missouri)
Connor Wyckoff Johnson County Mental Health Center (Overland Park)
Behavioral Health Scholars & Field Placements for 2016-17
Katie Barger Bert Nash WRAP (Lawrence)
Drew Belanger CAPS (Lawrence)
Amanda Brunk-Grady Heartland Community Health Center (Lawrence)
Haley Doubrava Stormont Vail West (Topeka)
Madeline Ford Children’s Mercy Hospital (Kansas City, MO)
Kori Godinez Kansas City, Kansas Schools (Kansas City, KS)
Ashley Granville Family Service and Guidance Center (Topeka)
Chelsea Harrington Wyandot Center RAVE (Kansas City, KS)
Jennifer Holder Olathe SOARS (Olathe)
Catelyn Holmes Mattie Rhodes Center (Kansas City, MO)
Cari Hommertzheim Villages (Lawrence/Topeka)
Marissa Kile Marillac (Overland Park)
Laena Loucks Johnson County Mental Health Center (Olathe)
Hannah Lujano The Shelter, Inc. (Lawrence)
Alli McGuinn Priority Care Pediatrics (Kansas City, MO)
Nicole Neves YouthThrive (Olathe)
Nicole Olivier Bulldoc Clinic (Kansas City, KS)
Natalie Reeves Kansas City, Kansas Schools (Kansas City, KS)
Giselle Scott Van Go, Inc. (Lawrence)
Stevie St. Clair Bert Nash Health Connections (Lawrence)
DaKie Washington Villages (Lawrence/Topeka)
Kelsey Wendland PACES (Kansas City, KS)
Bria Williams Samuel U. Rodgers Health Center (KC, MO)
Briana Williams Samuel U. Rodgers Health Center (KC, MO)


The IHSP is funded by a Behavioral Health Workforce Education and Training award from the Health Resources and Services Administration of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Michelle Levy
School of Social Welfare
210 Watkins Home
Lawrence, KS 66044

Jason Matejkowski
School of Social Welfare
201 Twente Hall
Lawrence, KS 66044

Cheryl Holmes
School of Social Welfare
5 Twente Hall
Lawrence, KS 66044

Social Welfare Events