2021-2022 Margo Award Winners Announced

The Margo Awards are named for Margaret Schutz Gordon, Professor Emeritus who served with distinction as Professor and Director of Field Education at KU SSW from 1970 to 1983.

The KU School of Social Welfare is pleased to announce the following 2021-2022 Margo Award recipients:

Student Awardees

Exceptional Performance in BSW Practicum 
Benjamin Roberts, Benilde Hall

Exceptional Performance in BSW Practicum
Marc Veloz, Lawrence Public Library 
Exceptional Performance in MSW Foundation Practicum 
Athena Horton, Amethyst Place 

Exceptional Performance in MSW Clinical Practicum  
Destiny Thomas, Hogan Preparatory Academy

Exceptional Performance in Macro Practicum 
Joshua Knowles, Youth Services of Topeka

Field Instructor and Preceptor Awardees

Excellence in BSW Field Instruction 
Mary Kaczor, Family Promise of Lawrence 
Excellence in Foundation Field Instruction 
Jamila Edwards, Amethyst Place 

Excellence in Foundation Field Instruction
Carolyn York, Kansas City Kansas School District USD 500
Excellence in Clinical Field Instruction  
Richard Mulryan, Children’s Mercy Hospital 
Find more information about each awardee on the Margo Awards webpage