A Foundation of Strengths. A Vision of Justice. A Mission of Change.
  • Home
  • KU students initiated into Phi Kappa Phi

KU students initiated into Phi Kappa Phi

Monday, January 13, 2020

LAWRENCE — More than a hundred University of Kansas students were initiated into the KU chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi at the end of the fall 2019 semester. Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective honor society for students from all academic disciplines. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and the top 7.5 percent of juniors.

“Congratulations are in order for our newest Phi Kappa Phi initiates,” said School of Education Associate Dean Lisa Wolf-Wendel, president of the KU Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi. “Membership is a measure of their commitment to scholarship and their passion for learning. It is our hope that the academic experience that has shaped their achievements at KU continues to positively influence their workplace and communities after they earn their degrees.”

Since Phi Kappa Phi’s founding in 1897, more than 1.5 million members have been initiated and more than 100,000 members maintain their active status in the society. Phi Kappa Phi offers them numerous benefits as dues-paying members, including access to nearly $1 million in awards and grants each year, including funds to support study abroad. At KU, graduating seniors are eligible to apply for the chapter’s James Blackiston Memorial Graduate Fellowship, a $1,500 award to help them in their first year of graduate study. Recipients of the Blackiston Fellowship are automatically nominated for additional national fellowship opportunities through Phi Kappa Phi.

New KU initiates into Phi Kappa Phi:

School of Architecture and Design

Ashley Jenna Farrow

Mary Wiberg

School of Business

Antonio Angulo

Douglas Bonebrake

Julia Doyle

Mallory Fredricks

Mackenzie Freeman

Howard Mahan

Alexander Murray

Kurtis Rood

Katherine Schartz

Sam St. John

Kyle Stutzman

Calon Tharet

School of Education

Olivia Beck

Kara Black

Paige Buffington

Sydney Campbell

Kara Clough

Zachary Hopp

Kyle Matthew Kobe

Jaden Silva

School of Engineering

Hayder Al-Salih

Abraham Atte

Luke Bridwell

Taylor Casady

Abigail Davidow

Hannah Duncan

Mathew Jaeschke

Jace Kline

Matthew David Legg

Tristan Myers

Emilia Paz Ojeda

Vo Thien Tri Pham

Sowmya Ragothaman

Elly Richardson

Jacob Wagner

Trevor Spraetz

Benjamin Wyss

Lansten Yew                 

School of Health Professions

Alana Manson

Hannah Weise

Taylor Wolken

School of Journalism and Mass Communications

Emma Bascom

Elena Grace Closen

Sheyenne Denton

Aubrey Goscha

Molly Landolt

John Watson

Angela Wright

School of Law

Howard Mahan

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences and School of the Arts

Dhanushki Abeykoon

Kasra Alizadeh

Tyler Allen

Rachel Anderson

Anton Barybin

Raegan Billinger

William Bodenhamer

Vanessa Boyd

Isaac Brown

Casey Butler

Joy Chang

Mayte Diaz Marquez

Abigail Dieter

Jackson Dinsmore

Joshua Eisenhauer

Claire Elliott

Brendon Elliott

Erika Fiscus

Ross Fitzpatrick

Jetta Greene

Kate Haefele

Andrew Hartnett

Joseph Hartung

Kylie Hulse-Nelson

Julia Iris Isbell

Nicolas Parker James

Shelby Johnson

Aisha Khan

Jordyn Leon

Kristi Lin

Eleanor Matheis

Alicen Meysing

Tucker Morris

Abigail Neal

Margaret Queen

Elizabeth “Bea” Reiter

Kelsey Rolofson

Michaela Russ

Hadrian Salento

Kiera Schneider

Sydney Schranz

Catherine Serwatka

Ria Singh

Reagan Smith

Leah Spreckelmeyer

Jacob Stanley

Niccolly Viscardi Gallo Ramalho

Megan Wallis

Anneliese Wilmsen

Evelyn Wilson

Joseph Wimmergren

Leeann Youn

Jonathan Zhang

School of Music

Ching Wen Chang

Tanya Honerman

Katrina Jacobsen

Wolfgang Johanning

Daniel Joseph Loganbill

Emily Rossin

Tianna Smith

Collin Watgen

Margaret Werth

School of Pharmacy

Izumi Asano

Jillian Mack

Kendall Schlesener

School of Social Welfare

Valarie Merriman

Samantha Mitra

Lilah Michele Wilder.

Social Welfare Events