Transform Lives. Be the Change.
  • Home
  • About
  • News
  • 2014-2015 Margo Award Winners

2014-2015 Margo Award Winners

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2014-2015 Margo Awards:

Exceptional Performance in BSW Practicum - We have a tie!
Sarah Cazares at Visiting Nurses Hospice
David Fout at Kansas Department of Corrections

Exceptional Performance in MSW Foundation Practicum
Lacey Koester at Jewish Vocational Services

Exceptional Performance in MSW Clinical Practicum
Candace Bolz at Olathe School District Alternative Education

Exceptional Performance in MSW SWAAP Practicum
John Bomhoff at the KU Center for Mental Health Research and Innovation

Excellence in Field Instruction
Nickie Daneke, Catholic Charities

Excellence in Field Instruction-Preceptor
Julie Seitter, Blue Valley North High School

The student winners will be presented with their awards at the BSW Recognition Ceremony and the MSW Hooding Ceremony, both on May 15, 2015. The Field Instruction awards were presented at the respective agencies of the winners.

Congrats to our winners, and all of this year’s outstanding nominees:


Sarah Cazares – Visiting Nurses of Douglas County, Hospice
Virginia Helgeson – MOCSA
David Fout – Kansas Department of Corrections
Marlene Koch – Johnson County Department of Health and Environment
Amanda Martinez – The Willow Domestic Violence Center
Shelly Ruder – Hillcrest Transitional Housing


Megan Bolinger – FootPrints, LCC
Candace Bolz – Olathe School District, Alternative Education JDC
Elizabeth Breedlove – Thalia House
Monica Broadwell – Via Christi Hospital, Pittsburg
John Bomhoff – Office of Mental Health Research and Training, KU SSW
Elise Chapline – Counseling and Testing Center, UMKC
Megan Cline – Intensive Family Counseling, Gillis
Britney Compton – Child Abuse Prevention Association
Abby Crow - Johnson County Department of Health and Environment
Cathleen Davis – Visiting Nurses of Douglas County
Kelly Harrington – The Family Conservancy, Dame la Mano Program
Jennifer Hodges – Children’s Mercy Hospital – West Clinic
Lacey Koester – Jewish Vocational Service
Jessica Levi- Spofford Home
Maslyn Locke – Catholic Charities of Northeast Kansas
Kim Lumsden – Alzheimer’s Association, Heart of America Chapter
Lauren Samantha Smith – Catholic Charities Counseling Service
Laura Person – Child Abuse Prevention Association
Erica Stevanovic – Centro Hispano Resource Center
Alicia Strawder – Asera Care Hospice
Nicole Termini – Depart of Veteran’s Affairs
Paige Threlkeld – Catholic Charities of Northeast Kansas
Lauren Zolton – Thalia House


Sarah Gustafson – Bethesda Lutheran Communities
Jason Keezer – Professional Treatment Services
Julie Seitter – Blue Valley School District, Blue Valley High School


Lynne Baker – First Baptist Raytown Counseling Services
Sara Barnes – Intensive Family Services
Kristen Blomquist - Johnson County Department of Health and Environment
Rebecca Burns-Spielman – The Willow Domestic Violence Center
Dawn Clouse – VA Eastern Kansas Health Care System, Leavenworth
Nickie Daneke – Catholic Charities of Northeast Kansas
Janet Delgado – Wellsville Public Schools (USD 289)
Karin Denes-Collar – Heartland Community Health Center
Debora Dias-Ferreira – Clinical Associates P.A.
Mickey Dick – Visiting Nurses of Douglas County
Jim Frentrop – Spofford Home
Laura Gillman – Jewish Family Services
James Glenn – Kim Wilson Housing
Hanna Godfrey – Family Service and Guidance Center
Mellisa Hutchinson – Olathe Schools, SOAR Program
Kelly Jones – Alzheimer’s Association
Hope Krebill – Midwest Cancer Alliance
Tom Kirkwood – Ozanam Day Treatment
Sarah Manriquez – The Family Conservancy, Wyandotte County
Lisa Marx – DCCCA, Inc.
Myra Mohr – Keystone Learning Services
Norella Munoz – State Street Elementary, Topeka Schools
Teresa Periera – Spofford Home
Nancy Rapp – Kansas Department of Aging and Disabilities Services
Leah Swindle – Safehome
Shannon Solander – Kansas Children’s Service League - Topeka
Mary Stafford - Safehome
Shannon Solander – Kansas Children’s Service League
Amy Tarwater-Gaston – Spofford Home
Dale Voigt-Catlin – UMKC Counseling Center
Griselda Williams – Community LINC

Social Welfare Events
Follow Social Welfare

Follow KU SSW on FacebookFollow KU SSW on TwitterFollow KU SSW on YouTube