Transform Lives. Be the Change.
  • Home
  • About
  • News
  • Dugger and Scanlon named this year's recipients of the Rocco Award

Scanlon and Dugger named this year's recipients of the Rocco Award

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

At the September faculty meeting, it was announced that Dr. Ed Scanlon and Sharolyn Dugger were this year’s recipients of the Rocco Award, named in honor of Dr. Rick Spano, former Associate Dean. The Rocco award recognizes faculty who go above and beyond in their support of social work education at KU.

Ed Scanlon photo
Dr. Ed Scanlon

The trick to being a leader is being able to make things that come from on high into assets. Ed took our accreditation process, framed it in a way that moved our program forward and worked with all of us to get it articulated and implemented in the most expeditious manner possible. We are all aware of the investment he has made in this aspect of our programs.

Sharolyn Dugger photo
Sharolyn Dugger

Sharolyn updated the field office apps, contract templates & evaluation forms to fit with our accreditation standards. She also helped create a website that articulated our field expectations more clearly for our students, field instructors, liaisons, and faculty. With her colleagues in the field office, she has worked to make a more streamline placement process while recruiting new field agency staff.

Last year was a first for the Rocco Award. The inaugural winners were Jody Brook and Kendal Carswell - congratulations to them as well!

Social Welfare Events
Follow Social Welfare

Follow KU SSW on FacebookFollow KU SSW on TwitterFollow KU SSW on YouTube